I Didn’t Know The VMA’s Came On This Year

An Ode To Detaching From Popular Culture

Rosalyn Morris
3 min readSep 20, 2023
MTVViacom, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

For the first time, in over twenty years, I did not know that the MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs) were airing.

In fact, they came and they went, without me even knowing that they’d come on.

For me, that is…something.

There hasn’t been a year in over two decades that I didn’t know the VMAs were airing. In my younger years, they were an event. I watched a lot of MTV and the countdown was huge. In recent years, while I no longer watch the show in its entirety, I have at least recorded it or tuned in to watch bits and pieces.

I wanted to know which artists were nominated for what awards, who won, and of course what was worn on the red carpet.

Also, what was the controversy because there was always some type of controversy at the VMAs.

The thing is…I don’t have cable TV anymore. I have basic (free) channels and streaming apps like Netflix, Hulu, and Max.

Most importantly, I’m no longer on social media.

YAY FOR ME!!!!!

So, how would I know that the VMAs were coming on?

The awards showed aired last Tuesday. I found out about two days later because I saw something…

--

--