So You Can’t Write Stories For Medium On Your Phone Anymore…

Rosalyn Morris
1 min readMar 23, 2022
Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

Yesterday, I tried doing something I almost do on a daily basis. I pulled out my iPhone, opened the Medium app, clicked on my profile pic, then went to the little dropdown box, and hoped to click on Drafts. Drafts is where you go to edit stories you’ve already started, in hopes of publishing them one day.

Only Drafts was gone!!!!

You can no longer start, or edit, a story using the Medium app. This means you can no longer write for Medium using your cell phone!

That’s terrible!!!

I can’t count the number of stories I’ve written on my phone.

Sometimes, before I start my day, I open the app and edit a story, even if it’s only one or two sentences. Because of the app, I have written entire stories during work breaks, even if it took an entire week.

This is a necessity for people who don’t have a lot of time or access to a desktop or laptop.

It’s practically elitist.

I don’t know what made Medium make this decision, but I’m guessing it’s going to impact many writers negatively, and cause thousands of stories to not be written at all.

Please bring Drafts back!

--

--